Home > The Journey > A Little Bit of Sunshine

A Little Bit of Sunshine

Every now and then I run into a patient that reminds me why I do this job.  It’s not the ones that we save, the ones we see over and over again, the ones who are generally pleasant, polite and just nice, but one who manages to touch that part of you that lives behind the wall that so many of us put up to stay detached and uninvolved.  That remove becomes so ingrained that it is a reflex.  So often we shy away from letting our patients too close for fear that something untoward might happen.  Maintaining our professional distance is a survival tactic in our increasingly chaotic work world.  Many times the ones that say, “Thank you.” and truly mean it are those that break the wall.

In our age of patient satisfaction scores, core measures, Joint Commission surveys, evidence-based practice and the overall stress of caring for the sick and dying it gets a bit dark, like the light on an overcast day.  It’s still light out, but the clouds filter it down to a dull gray glow.  But that simple act of saying “Thanks,” can make the sun come out.

My patient the other night was one such person.  As I introduce myself, I hear the words so many of us dread, “I remember you!”  Immediately my mind starts turning, rooting around in the dark recesses trying valiantly to match the name, the face and the situation of where I know him.  But I can’t.  It’s blank.

“That’s great,” I reply, “No offense I can’t seem to remember you though. ”  And it’s true, I’ve drawn a complete blank.  Usually I have a pretty great recall of the patients I have taken care of, but not tonight, not even now.  “I’m hoping I did OK.”  I finish.

“Oh yeah!”  he enthuses, “You were great.  You took care of me when I was here for 20-some odd days with my valve surgery.  It’s good to see you again!”  Slowly the details are starting to come back, but really nothing.  From there I go into the normal nursing things as we chat.

Through the night he tells everyone that will listen how awesome our floor is, how dedicated and talented our docs are and how great of a nurse I am.  I bring in a pair of my nurses to hear his mechanical valve and he says, “Y’know, Wanderer is really great!  A number 1 nurse!” as they listen to his clicking heart.  I wink at him and say, “OK, how much do I owe ya’ for that one?”

The next evening as I come on and get report, the off-going nurse says, “He is so glad you’re back.  I told him I wasn’t sure, but he said he sure hoped you were!”

Sure enough when I walk in, he’s got a huge grin that I’m back.

So through the night we continue to chat.  He tells me how he thinks that our team, the physicians and the nurses at our hospital are amazing, that he wouldn’t go anywhere else for his care.  Compared to so many of the folks we have taken care of lately, who pretty much hates us, it is a needed breath of fresh air.

Finally in the morning as I do my final rounds before heading out he says, “I just wanted to say it was a pleasure to have you as my nurse,  thank you for all you do.”

I grin, turn and say, “No, the pleasure was all mine.”  as  I walked off the unit with a bounce in my step, a small bit of faith in humanity restored.

Categories: The Journey Tags: ,
  1. November 9, 2009 at 6:44 am | #1

    Those type are the keepers. My response is usually, “your personality makes it easy…” And, it’s true. The nice, respectful, thankful patients make it so easy to be a nurse.

  2. WWWebb
    November 9, 2009 at 12:30 pm | #2

    I had an open tib/fib pilon fracture in late May, and I’ve been living the patient experience off and on since then.

    I worked as an EMT for a couple of years, as I like to put it, “back in the ancient days when people bleeding all over you was only a laundry problem”. So I understand fairly well what y’all go through in terms of ungrateful and sometimes abusive patients.

    And, although someone in the hospital accidentally gave me MRSA the second time I was in there, I absolutely loved all of my nurses. And I made it a point to try to be a fun patient for them, cutting up, razzing them and so forth. Because so many patients are in pain (I wasn’t most of the time- The Illuminated Green Button Is Your Friend) or afraid (I wasn’t until I started reading up on just how difficult recoveries can be for this type of injury) and I was determined to make their visits to me a break from all that.

    And I went inpatient again a couple of weeks ago, and you know what? They were all just as glad to have me back as I was to have them caring for me.

    So it goes both ways.

  3. November 9, 2009 at 8:04 pm | #3

    Isn’t it amazing how 1 of those patients can off-set and balance a hundred of the bad ones.
    It’s why most of us do what we do.
    Great job.

  4. November 14, 2009 at 10:00 am | #4

    What Sean said. I vent and whine about the drug seekers but then you have patients who treat you like a human and can see and feel your level of expertise and compassion. It’s why I’ll go to work on Monday.

  5. December 16, 2009 at 5:21 pm | #5

    What a great and inspiring story! Reminds us all that even a few sentences can make or break someone’s day. Thanks for sharing. -Halie@scrubsmag.com

  1. December 11, 2009 at 11:08 am | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 902 other followers

