Meme me baby!

Keep Breathing just posted on a new meme circulating around the blogosphere.  The rules say thus:

Pass it on to five other bloggers, and tell them to open the nearest book to page 56. Write out the fifth sentence on that page, and also the next two to five sentences. The CLOSEST BOOK, NOT YOUR FAVORITE, OR MOST INTELLECTUAL!

I have an issue with this.  First, I’m on the couch and the closest “book” is a video game booklet.  Second, since nursing school, my relationship with books has been tenuous at best.  Somedays I can read voraciously, other days I have the attention span of a gnat.  Third, I tend to read more magazines than books right now. I get into heavy books so I can only do a couple a year.  Since I don’t have a book handy, I’ll do the next best.  An excerpt from Wired, November 2008:

“From a decommissioned bomb shelter four stories beneath Los Angeles City Hall, this 23-year veteran is singlehandedly hauling the city’s fire department into the Web 2.0 era.  He has about 80 projects in the works – involving everything from Twitter to BlogTalkRadio – that will not only help broadcast urgent information to the public but also gather crucial intel to assist first responders on the ground.”

From, “Smoke Detector: The LAFD’s one-man geek squad.”

Yes, I’m a geek.  That said, I’m not going to nominate anyone else.  But if you want to play along, go right ahead!

Leave a Reply

