Ugh.

I just finished working 6 out of the last 7 nights.  It’s kicked my ass, but in the end was worth it.  One of the shifts was overtime, which never happens anymore so I had to take advantage of it.  I feel like I should be more tired, went to bed at 9am and woke up at  feeling fine.  I no longer understand my body’s sleep patterns, they’ve gotten too screwed up.  Now I just sleep when I feel like it and hope for the best.

Luckily I have a week off and in spite of having to take ACLS tomorrow (and the next day) it should be enjoyable.  But alas, it is Spring in Oregon and there is nothing but clouds and rain in the forecast.  We had one day of bright sunshine this week and it was wonderful.  I felt alive again, at least for awhile.  Considering the previous evening I was riding through downpours on the way to work it was a nice change.

Here’s a couple of funnies from the week:

Chief Complaint 1:  Suicidal Stomach
(actually suicidal, stomach pain, panic attack, but our system only shows the first 20 or so characters of the complaint.)

Chief Complaint 2:  Penis Lac
(in comments to the side “S.O. w/tongue piercing.)  That’s sexy…nothing like the feel of steel on your…uh, nevermind.

Leave a Reply

