Unorganized Thoughts

This last week beat the snot out of me.  I really want to write a resounding “Fuck yeah!” and a post related to some great nursing writing by Not Nurse Ratched and  Those Emergency Blues, but I don’t have it.  I’m running on empty from a worse week than normal.  If we weren’t getting screwed by the patients, the ED, docs and our fellow nurses there was a general feeling of being under a bad moon.  I feel like I saw the future of my floor this week:  it wasn’t pretty.  I want to say more, but can’t formulate coherent logical thoughts.  Believe me, I’ve been trying.  Nothing seems to flow right.  I have some snippets put down, but can’t seem to make them go anywhere.

Go read these posts.  They’re beyond good and in many ways capture what I’m thinking better than I can.

Dark Times by Not Nurse Ratched

Response to Dark Times by Not Nurse Ratched

Nursing Malaise by Those Emergency Blues.

I have this feeling of impending doom regarding my unit.  What they write about is evolving on my unit and I am scared to death about it.  I feel that even though my manager wants our input, doing so would make me (and every other charge nurse) complicit in the same destructive behavior described above.  I don’t want any of it.

Don’t worry I’ll find my flow again.

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

