Meetings: Not a Prioirty

To: Unit Manager

From: Wanderer, overworked charge nurse

Subject: Monday’s Meeting

I guess one of the included functions in the Managerion™ 2000 automated management toolset randomly creates meetings and requires our attendance.  This would explain relative randomness and recurring frequency of such meetings and their lack of cogent concept or agenda.  Having meetings just to have meetings about meetings is pointless and a waste of all of our time.

In the last 4 meetings we have decided absolutely nothing, but keep referring to later meetings to “work out the details”.  Would it be so hard to make a decision?  Yes, you have multiple units that these decisions will affect, but sometimes you need to throw caution to the wind and make a decision – call it an executive mandate.  There is something to that y’know?

This said, I won’t be coming to any more meetings.  I’m not going to spend an hour each way commuting in to work for a meeting that lasts 45-60minutes and decides nothing.  It is not as easy as some might think.  Whether I drive or not it is at least 45 minutes in rush hour traffic and if I use transit it is even longer.  Now if we were going to decide something or the  meeting was going to last 2 hours, things might be different.  Also if I didn’t have to come back to work the night shift at 1900 it might be different as well.  But the last 4 meetings have done nothing of the sort.

I realize that it is part of your annual review to see how many meetings you presided over, ran or otherwise were engaged in, and I know management is in agreement that meeting indices are not quite what they should be for this fiscal quarter, but please, enough already.

So unless the next meeting will actually accomplish something, or is held in a local pub during happy hour, I won’t even be phoning it in.  I am a nurse, I take care of patients.  I am not a paper-pusher, drone, meeting junkie or have any aspirations to management  so just let me do what I’m good at – no more meetings.

Thanks!

Wanderer, overworked charge nurse

3 Comments

  1. I doubt it helps, but this ridiculousness is everywhere, not just in the hospitals. I recently switched from ICU nursing to case management for an insurance company, and it is at least as prevalent as in the hospital environment. A few weeks ago, we actually had a webinar to teach people to log into webinars (and you guessed it, if you can get into the webinar, then you clearly didn’t need it in the first place!).

    Reply

  2. For years I ran with the axiom:

    No agenda, no attenda.

    Surprisingly, it works. “Oh! I didn’t attend that meeting because I didn’t know it was about. Thought you mistakenly included me in the invite…”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

