The First Day

Yesterday was the first day of a new adventure.

I no longer have a job and I’m OK with that.

I volunteered to be part of a “reduction in force”, business speak for “laid off”. Why? Many reasons, but mostly it was beyond time to leave. Also because I things have become clearer to me with regards to what is important in life. It’s like the axiom goes, no one lays on their death bed saying, “Boy, I wish I worked more.” Work was overwhelming my life, permeating every nook and cranny and luckily I had the clarity to realize that wasn’t what I wanted out of my life and this was the first step in doing something about that.

I woke up yesterday though with an odd feeling of freedom. Nowhere to be I just sat around in my sweats and relaxed. Then the reality set in. I had a momentary burst of panic of when I was going back to work, then realized it was never.

I then had another more sustained burst of overwhelming panic realizing that I no longer had a job.

Then came the calm realization that it was going to be OK.

Things would be OK.

…more to come…

Leave a Reply

